The Impenitents - Lip Therapy ()

CS Edition of 135. Release Date – May 14th, 2021 – Pre-order Available –  How happy we are to present the debut cassette by this new, scrambled Massachusetts trio. The Impenitents line-up includes Salem’s always wonderful Andrea Pensado, whose previous releases for the label are the Without Knowing Why LP (FTR 203), Los Condenados’ Yeppers LP (FTR 126) all of which display different aspects of berserk invention mixed with pure charm. On Lip Therapy she is in charge of vocals and some electronics.  This is Erik Browns’s Feeding Tube debut, although he has shared releases with folks like Belltone Suicide, Noise Nomads and Limbs Bin while recording as Wish for Skin, Scald Hymn or one of his other various operational… Read more »

Matt Sowell - QuaranTunes Series No.015 ( / )

12″ Lathe. Edition of 21. Numbered. Riso Looseleaf cover / back art printed at Looky Here in Greenfield, MA. Release Date – May 21st, 2021 – Preorder Available –  Matt Sowell is a big guy with big hands who we met at the 1000 Incarnations of the Rose fest down in Takoma a couple years back. He let us release his fantastic debut LP, Organize or Die (FTR 541), and followed that up with this Zoom concert, broadcast from his home in Minneapolis on Friday July 24, 2020. Matt starts things off with few new tunes, which display some of the same multi-sector flow that marks the work of his guitar mentor, Peter Lang, as well as Lang’s fellow travelers at… Read more »

Monocot - Direction We Know ()

LP Edition of 200. Release Date – July 2nd, 2021 – Pre-order available – In one sense all collaborations and recordings thereof  have a certain surprise factor. Any time two or more people get together to create something from nothing, the exact contours of the resulting experiment are likely to contain at least a few unknown elements. This notion is especially true when the people collaborating are coming from not obviously congruent places. And (at least to me) this makes Monocot a project that was guaranteed to toss a curve.  Monocot is an improvising instrumental duo comprised of drummer Jayson Gerycz and guitarist Rosali Middleman. Jayson’ work I know mostly from the Cleveland rock band, Cloud Nothings, and cool sessions… Read more »

Papa Lee God - QuaranTunes Series No. 018 ( / )

12″ Lathe. Edition of 27. Numbered. loose leaf cover and back art printed at Looky Here in Greenfield, MA After having recorded the sheik of downfall creek LP (FTR 382) using the papa lord god soubriquet, this Tasmanian devil opted for a slightly diff handle for his live Zoom concert, which was broadcast from a secret lair on the morning of Saturday August 15 (although it was still Friday evening here in the Eastern U.S.) The music this time was different from the LP, but the mix of somewhat twisted roots music and avant garde proclivities was similarly canted and equally addictive.  One man, one guitar and one microphone. Apparently, you don’t need anything else. On this evening Papa Lee… Read more »

Magic Tuber Stringband - When Sorrows Encompass Me ‘Round ()

CS Edition of 200 Pro-Dubbed Cassettes. Release Date – June 25th, 2021 – Pre-order available –  Magic Tuber Stringband is Durham NC-based duo, made up of Evan Morgan and Courtney Werner. Their primary instruments are guitar and fiddle, but they are not married to these particular axes and follow their instincts when they feel other instruments are called for. Playing music with its bite rooted in the Piedmont tradition, Magic Tuber mostly write their own material, while exploring and expanding dynamics of string interaction that are as old as the hills. Treading a line that begins in equal parts of blues and Anglo-Scottish lineage, they introduce different motific elements at points. “Teo’s Farewell” has a central portion with a very Middle Eastern… Read more »

Matthew J. Rolin - The Dreaming Bridge ( / )

2LP edition of 300 Bandcamp OUT OF PRINT “We are living in something of a golden age of fingerstyle guitarists. This glut can be both a blessing and a curse, as it becomes increasingly difficult for even the most discerning of fans to distinguish one player from the next, however capable these players might be. It is always a pleasure, then, to hear the ways in which the braver and brighter guitarists re-think the tradition from the ground up and recast it in their own image. Enter guitarist Matthew J. Rolin, who plays as if he was born with a dreadnought in his hands. The Ohio-based guitarist’s artistic leaps in recent years are rivaled only by those of Daniel Bachman,… Read more »

Kass Richards - The Language Shadow ()

LP Edition of 300 Re-issue / Co-Release with Good Cry Records Release Date – June 18th, 2021 – Pre-order Available –  Reissue of the very limited debut LP by this Massachusetts-based musician. We first ran into Kass’s Good Cry label when she put out Jordan Perry’s eponymous debut, which we promptly reissued (FTR 376). And we are well pleased to be able to do the same for The Language Shadow — a most excellent album by all known metrics. Kass (who works with Meg Remy’s U.S. Girls) sings and plays guitar, dulcimer and small instrument-style percussion. Recorded at Montreal’s Hotel2Tango, her music has the clean, hard bite of a Northern Spy apple. Some of the songs are performed as elegant… Read more »

Matt Valentine Preserves - Galactic Ooze ()

LP edition of 300. Bandcamp link Originally issued as a CDR on Matt’s own Child of Microtones label, the stone madness of this session was so overwhelming we begged him to let us do it on vinyl. Luckily for one and all, he agreed. Recorded here and there, with a variety of different ensembles. Galactic Ooze is one of the most fully warped missives from Planet MV, and that is saying something. While there is a certain continuity between the layered threads of MV’s deeply processed vocals and amazing stunned-noodle guitar figurines, the music here is always in flux. There’s lots of electronic jiggering which brings to mind the squeedle elements of Blows Against the Empire (still the apex of… Read more »

The Band Whose Name Is A Symbol - Stellar Remnant ()

LP Edition of 200. Co-Released with Cardinal Fuzz Release Date – May 28th – pre-order available – When John Westhaver approached me with the idea of culling some tracks from the crucial ‘Shedding The Albatross’ 4xCDr edition for a vinyl LP (and yes folks in a place where money is no object we would do a 7xLP Box Set of this – i WISH i could do that). I obviously said Yes before the sentence was finished. John compiled this edition with 4 tracks culled from the soundboard recording of the Birdman Sound Show and added Navy Cut Blues from the Birdman Basement Rehearsal Space. As always TBWNIS bring their A-game (they always do – that is a given) but… Read more »

Kohoutek - Jurad ()

LP Edition of 350 Co-Released with Cardinal Fuzz Release Date – May 28th – Pre-order available –  While they have released a decent number of cassettes & CDs, Jurad is only the fourth vinyl album released by this long-running DC-to-Philly-based space-juggernaut. Recorded by a quartet iteration of the always mutating ensemble, the music on this one veers between the kind of psych-prog wallow for which Kohoutek is most often celebrated, and the less formally rockoid improvisational proclivities they sometimes display. The session for Jurad went down at Philadelphia’s Sex Dungeon studio in 2012 and resulted in three long tracks. The shortest one, “Cosmic Grease,” opens the B side in classic Kohoutek style. John Stanton’s guitar balances on the cusp of… Read more »