Waterless Hills - The Great Mountain

LP Co-Release with Cardinal Fuzz


Beautifully wandering debut LP by this Manchester-based instrumental project. C Joynes on guitar, DBH on violin, Gavin Clarke on bass and Andrew Cheetham on drums map out a gorgeously spacious psych landscape. They have a wonderful 8” lathe from the same session, but The Great Mountain allows them enough room to breathe through each others’ sound-holes like one big organic blob.

There are curlicues of pure cheeb smoke billowing out of their collective engine at certain moments, and whisps of pure West Country prog rurality at others. But the overall effect is transfixing. Great song titles, great vibe, what more could one ask?

-Byron Coley, 2020